Books Alive! Book Discussion

Our Library-sponsored group meets on the third Tuesday of every month at 2 pm. Books are available one month before meetings. All are welcome to attend!

snowwhiteSnow White Must Die by Nele Neuhaus

December 15

In this captivating contemporary police procedural, Tobias Sartorius returns home after a decade in prison for the murders of two young women. A local girl disappears, could the crime be connected to the events of 10 years ago? In the village the two lead investigators encounter a wall of silence as yet more girls go missing.


kingdomoficeIn the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the U.S.S. Jeannette by Hampton Sides

January 19

Our non-fiction selection chronicles the 1879 expedition of American naval officer George Washington De Long through the Bering Strait to the North Pole, which at the time was the last unmapped area of the globe. Like the expeditions of Shackleton and Scott the voyage was treacherous and tragic.


longmanLong Man by Amy Greene

February 16

This book based on real-life historical events, chronicles 3 days in the town of Yuneetah. The Tennessee Valley Authority has plans to dam the Long Man River, providing electricity to rural Appalachia, at the expense of the town which is being flooded as a three-year-old and her dog disappear.


Cookbook Club

honeyandcoHoney & Co. by Itamar Srulovich and Sarit Packer

Thursday, January 14, 6 pm

When we explore a cookbook, it’s potluck meets book discussion! Sign up at the Reference Desk, pick a tasty recipe from our enticing selection (we’ll keep track to avoid duplicates), and prepare it for the program. We’ll sample lots of good food, talk about what worked and what didn’t, and select future cookbooks. Our book this winter is filled with vibrant Middle Eastern cuisine perfect for fans of Yotam Ottolenghi’s cookbooks (like us!).

Register in person by January 7


Film Discussion Group

Fridays, 7 pm

Watch independent, foreign, and classic movies on our giant screen, followed by brief discussion

Jodorowskys-Dune-posterNovember 27

Jodorowsky’s Dune (2013, dir. Frank Pavich, 88 min.) A diverse group of filmmakers and artists describe Jodorowsky’s plans for an adaptation of the Frank Herbert novel in this fascinating documentary.





Damyecember 11  

Amy (2015, dir. Asif Kapadia; 128 min.) The life of late singer Amy Winehouse is depicted through home movies and other footage in this affecting documentary.





Mommy-2014January 8

Mommy (2014, dir Xavier Dolan, 139 min.) In this unusual drama from Quebecois wunderkind Dolan, the troubled relationship of a mother and son is transformed by outside forces.





meruJanuary 22

Meru (2015, dir. Jimmy Chin and Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi; 87 min.) A group of mountain climbers attempts an extremely difficult climb in this harrowing documentary.





aboutellyFebruary 5

About Elly (2009, dir. Asghar Farhadi; 119 min.) In this mystery from the director of Film Discussion Group favorites A Separation and The Past, a woman disappears during a weekend trip.





whenmarnieFebruary 19    

When Marnie Was There (2014, dir. Hiromasa Yonebayashi; 103 min.) A young girl makes a mysterious friend in this beautifully animated film (possibly the final film from the famed Studio Ghibli).


Local Discussion Groups

If you host a book discussion group, the Library is always happy to provide copies of books, background information about authors, and book suggestions for future discussion.